The Beatitudes

Scripture: Matthew 5:3-16

In this video about the teachings of Jesus Christ, Jesus teaches the beatitudes. What are the beatitudes? The beatitudes are nine declarations by Jesus indicating attributes or behaviors that bring us blessings. The first beatitude is, “Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”. That mean that we shouldn’t be proud or think ourselves better than others. The second one is, “Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.” This means that when we mourn, eventually we will be comforted - especially if we turn to God and believe in Jesus. We should also look for others who mourn and strive to comfort them.

The third beatitude is, “Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.” The meek means those who are willing to keep the commandments of God. The fourth is, “Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.” This means that we should desire the things of God - scriptures, kindness, love, charity and so forth. The fifth beatitude is, “Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.” This means that we should give others the benefit of the doubt and we should not judge them harshly. Now, you can watch the video below or scroll down to learn about the final four beatitudes.

To learn more about the Ministry of Jesus, go to our Bible quiz page.

Video Stats:

YouTube Rating: 96%

# of Views: 423,440 (as of 4/24/19)

# of Ratings: 2,148 (as of 4/24/19)

Category: Life of Jesus

Subscribe: Daily Video

About the Life of Jesus

Our Privacy Policy: We will never sell or give away your email address. See Privacy Policy or Terms of Service

More About this Video:

The Final Four Beatitudes: The sixth beatitude is, “Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God”. This means we should keep our thoughts clean; we shouldn’t think about things that would offend God. The seventh beatitude is, “Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God”. The peacemakers are those who don’t fight, argue and who avoid degrading sarcasm. Instead, they try to build others up. The eighth beatitude is, “Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven”. These are the people who are willing to stand alone in doing what is right and keeping the commandments of God even when others may make fun of them or be cruel. The ninth and final beatitude is, “Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake”. This doesn’t mean that we should be preachy or self righteous towards other, however we should never deny God or His commandments - even if people persecute or threaten us because of it.

Dave Clark Author

By Dave Clark